ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

24th November 2022

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 At its meeting on 29th September 2022, the Council considered a report on the vacant positions within the Council, on its committees and on various external organisations, following the sad passing of Councillor John McAlpine, who represented Ward 2, Kintyre and the Islands.
- 1.2 The Council dealt with a number of those appointments at that meeting, and agreed to consider the remaining vacancies at a future meeting following the Ward 2, Kintyre and the Islands by-election count which took place on 30th September.
- 1.3 The council is invited to consider what action it wishes to take in light of the vacancies and appointments detailed in the recommendations and report below.
- 1.4 Councillor Alastair Redman was elected to Ward 2, Kintyre and the Islands, on 30th September. More detail about the election result is available on the Council's website at By-election Kintyre and the Islands 29th September 2022 (argyll-bute.gov.uk). The council is asked to note the updated political composition of the Council as set out at Appendix 1.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

- 2.1 The Council is invited to consider what action it wishes to take in light of the remaining council and committee vacancies, listed at paragraphs 3.1 and 3.2 of the report;
- **2.2** The Council is asked to note the updated political composition of the Council, as set out at Appendix 1; and
- **2.3** The Council is asked to consider making an appointment to the ACHA Board.

3. DETAIL

3.1 Council Roles

The following council roles remain vacant following the passing of Councillor John McAlpine:

- a) Policy Lead for Community Planning and Corporate Services
- b) Chair of the Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands Area Committee

It should be noted that Policy Leads are appointed to such positions by the Council on the nomination of the Leader. The relevant provision in the constitution is –

Part A Part II, Paragraph 6(3) – The Council accepts that Policy Leads and Depute Policy Leads will be appointed to such positions by the Council on the nomination of the Leader. A Policy Lead will hold office until otherwise determined by the Council (but not beyond the life of the Council) unless:

• S/he is suspended from being a councillor in terms of the Ethical Standards in Public Life (Scotland) Act 2000 (although s/he may resume office subject to the approval of the Council at the end of the period of suspension)

3.2 Committee Vacancies

There are also vacancies remaining on the following committees:

- a) Policy and Resources Committee
- b) Environment, Development and Infrastructure Committee
- c) Argyll and Bute Harbour Board
- d) Employee Joint Consultative Committee
- e) Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers
- f) Argyll and Bute Community Planning Partnership Management Committee

3.3 Area Committee Appointments

As one of the three councillors elected to represent Ward 2, Kintyre and the Islands, Councillor McAlpine was appointed to Islay and Jura Community Enterprise Ltd at the Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands Area Committee meeting on 8th June 2022. This note is provided for the council's information only, with no action required at this stage, as this appointment is one of those made at Area Committee level, and is likely to be picked up at the next appropriate Area Committee meeting following the Ward 2 by-election.

3.4 ACHA

The recent resignation of Councillor Tommy Macpherson from the Board of Argyll Community Housing Association (ACHA) leaves a vacancy for appointment to that Board.

3.5 Political Composition of the Council

Councillor Alastair Redman has confirmed to the Executive Director with responsibility for Legal and Regulatory Support that he has joined The Argyll, Lomond and the Isles Group (TALIG). The updated political composition of the Council is set out accordingly at Appendix 1.

4. CONCLUSION

4.1 This report notes the result of the Ward 2, Kintyre and the Islands byelection and the subsequent election of Councillor Alastair Redman on
30th September. It outlines a number of remaining vacancies within the
Council and on its committees, and invites Council to consider what action
it wishes to take in this regard. An update on the Council's political
composition is also provided for noting.

5. IMPLICATIONS

- **5.1** Policy none
- **5.2 Financial** The Council will incur costs arising from Elected Members' participation in some meetings, except where the body has its own allowances scheme.
- 5.3 Legal None
- **5.4 HR** None
- 5.5 Fairer Scotland Duty None
- **5.5.1 Equalities protected characteristics None**
- **5.5.2 Socio-Economic Duty** None
- 5.5.3 Islands None
- 5.6 Climate Change None

- 5.7 Risk None
- 5.8 Customer Service None

Douglas Hendry Executive Director with responsibility for Legal and Regulatory Support

11th October 2022

For further information please contact Aileen McNicol, Leadership Support and Member Services Manager, on 01546 604014 or by email on aileen.mcnicol@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Argyll and Bute Council - Political Composition

ARGYLL FIRST (2)

Donald Kelly (Ind) (Leader of Argyll First)

Douglas Philand (Ind) (Depute Leader of Argyll First)

INDEPENDENT (1)

Mark Irvine

SCOTTISH GREEN PARTY (1)

Luna Martin

SCOTTISH LABOUR PARTY (1)

Fiona Howard

SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY (12)

John Armour
Gordon Blair
Jan Brown
Math Campbell-Sturgess
Audrey E Forrest (Depute Leader, SNP Group)
Willie Hume
Reeni Kennedy Boyle
Jim Lynch (Leader, SNP Group)

lan James MacQuire Dougie McFadzean Julie McKenzie lain Shonny Paterson

THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLES GROUP (19)

Garret Corner (Con)
Maurice Corry (Con)
Robin Currie (LibDem)

Kieron Green (Ind) Amanda Hampsey (Con) Daniel Hampsey (Con) Graham Hardie (LibDem) Andrew Kain (Ind) Paul Donald Kennedy (LibDem) Tommy Macpherson (Con) Liz McCabe (Ind)

Yvonne McNeilly (Con) (Leader, TALIG)

Ross Moreland (LibDem) Gary Mulvaney (Con) Gemma Penfold (Con) Alastair Redman (Ind) William Sinclair (LibDem) Andrew Vennard (Con) Peter Wallace (Con)

Note:

Con - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Ind - Independent

LibDem - Scottish Liberal Democrat Party